What’s New Wednesday #5

22 Feb

Three new things coming at ya today!

#1 I found my new favorite pen. Yes, one of my weird OCD things is pens. They have to write with ease and not glob in. PaperMate InkJoy is it.  I got an assorted colors pack and am in heaven.  I also have to use one pen until it is out of ink. I cannot use 100 pens and have them all over. I keep the same one (or two of different colors) with me and never use another if I can help it. I am strange I know.  Getting back on track – you need to try one of these pens.

#2 I have decided that in March I am going to read 10 books. This doesn’t seem like much to you I am sure. But to me this is huge.  I consume my time with Facebook and other time warps. I am going to try to turn that around.  Will you join me?

#3 Last, but not least – I saved the best for last. For lent (yes it starts today) I am giving up Facebook.  Yes folks – I am doing it. My blog is automatically linked and I am not taking the time to un-link it and such. I, however will not be on Facebook.  I will keep up my Twitter just because I have lots of motivational quotes and blog links through there. I actually use it more than stalk it like Facebook.  I think it will actually make me happier 🙂  My husband thinks that I will still get on it at work….Um, no.  I am really going to do this.  For me. 

7 Responses to “What’s New Wednesday #5”

  1. DragonLady February 22, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    1. I have a thing for fountain pens. I get inked a lot, but they rock.
    2. 10 books in March. Hmmm. So if I am not playing fb games (which really wasn’t taking up that much time), and stop sitting and playing spider solitaire…for hours…I might be able to fill that time with books and finish the 5 or 6 I have started and put aside. So, yeah, I will give it a go. 🙂
    3. So, this means I need to keep a closer eye on Twitter… 😉

  2. sandi sohn February 22, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    This sounds great Molly, good for you. I had a friend give up FB last year. It’s amazing how much it actually interferes with our lives. I read ~ a lot ~ any and everything. I encourage people to read more. I work at Blockbuster and always tell people, ” if you like the movie, you really need to read the book”. For lent, I’m giving up meat. I’m still going to eat eggs and fish. This is going to be a BIG challenge for me. Have a great day!

  3. Petra February 22, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    I love pens too! I’ll keep an eye out for some inkjoys. 🙂

    ten books in a month?! That seems incredibly daunting. I don’t even know if I can read ten books this *year*! lol. And I used to read constantly. I miss it. I really should make an effort to read more. I think I’ll start now – maybe go soak in the tub with a good book… yes, that sounds like a plan! 😉

  4. Petra February 22, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    Oh, and I will miss you on FB. I don’t twitter. We’ll just have to text and talk more often. 🙂

  5. Michelle Philippi February 23, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Funny…. I am the same way with pens. I have my standard 2 pens that I use…and they are colored and fun…and medium point…and write just like I like them.
    I don’t do Facebook – never have….just a time waster…that and Pinterest… Twitter is my only social media guilty pleasure… You’re giving it up for lent? You’re not Catholic, are you? I didn’t know that other religions did that too…(the giving up for lent thing)….

    • Miss Molly February 23, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      I am not Catholic but Nick is – but we do the sacrificial part of lent as Baptists.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What is it with a challenge? - DragonLady's World - February 23, 2012

    […] as it stands and not up the ante? So here’s the deal. My friend Molly put up a challenge to read 10 books in March. I am totally up for that since I gave up gaming for lent (and I can’t tell you how hard it […]

Leave a Reply

