Negativity

25 Feb

Drags you down. I am over it. I am finally in a happy place and I enjoy it. It has made all the change in the world.  The army moved us to Alaska from beautiful North Carolina.  At first I was excited. Then we got here and I got down. It wasn’t the same, my friends weren’t here, and my house wasn’t here.  I let the negativity of the whole situation  get me down.I prayed for help. I had encouraging friends who prayed for me. I have been reading a book about missionaries in Liberia that was given to me by my pastor. I was reading it and it changed my view. I gave up control just as the missionary did. I realized I was making everything worse.  Once I gave up control the mad feelings left me.

It made me realize how many people around me were so negative and I learned to live with it.  I was complacent. I will not go back that way and I will not think that way again. I cannot. It is like a prison.  I have decided that I am making some permanent changes.  I am going to whittle away those that are negative. Whether it be at work, on Facebook, or “Friends” I hang out with.  I am getting rid of the negative everywhere.  I want to stay happy and enjoy my opportunities. I want to enjoy my kids and my husband. Life is too short to be a Debi-downer.

Live the life God has given you. It is full of blessings and happiness.

4 Responses to “Negativity”

  1. Leanne February 25, 2012 at 1:57 am #

    YAY!!! Good for you : )) Its a daily chore, but one you wont regret: ))

  2. DragonLady February 25, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    I’ve been really struggling with my negativity. I think I do a pretty good job hiding it from most people, but when I get home, the mask comes off and my family gets the brunt – which is so wrong. I have some serious control issues, the root(s) of which I am trying to dig up…and it hurts. 😉

    That was a great book! I may read it again once our challenge is over. 🙂

    Hang in there Molly! Don’t let the rooster fall down! lol

  3. Petra February 25, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Good for you! Life is too short to surround yourself with negative people. I “hide” people on Facebook all the time – I just can’t be dragged down. I’m glad you are letting go and giving God control – isn’t it amazing how important it seems to hold onto things, and then when we let go, it’s like “why didn’t I do that a long time ago?!?!” 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday #5 | mollyritterbeck - March 1, 2012

    […] having a moment of clarity with how I want my life to be (my negativity post HERE ) I have realized how important it is to have my Thankful Thursday posts!  Research shows that […]

Leave a Reply

