Proverbs 31 Woman – Virtue #6

26 Feb

6. Finances – A Virtuous Woman seeks her husband’s approval before making purchases and spends money wisely. She is careful to purchase quality items which her family needs. (Proverbs 31: 14, Proverbs 31: 16, Proverbs 31: 18, 1 Timothy 6: 10, Ephesians 5: 23, Deuteronomy 14: 22, Numbers 18: 26)

Ugh – I hate the word finance and anything that goes with the personal type.  Ever since I left John Deere in 2009 mine have not been where I want them. It seems that when the paycheck went down everything else stayed the same and it makes it awful hard to make ends meet.  I have been humbled to needing Nick’s help with a lot of things and money was one of them.  I had to ask to make purchases and I didn’t like it , but it made me really think about things I needed and wanted.

I learning now that things have to be quality, not just about quantity. I might be able to buy 5 shirts for $20 but they will need to be replaced in a couple of months because the quality is bad. OR I could buy 3 for $20 that will last me all summer as the fabric is thicker. 

My kids might like the name brand cereal, but will they ever know the taste difference if I just buy generic and call it the same? No.

Do I really need to buy soda for $5 a 12 pack? No.

When I am not buying all that crap – I can save to make sure the money is here when I really need it.  I am forever learning on this one. Nick has really helped me too – not sure if he really knows it though. 

What have you done to help with finances?

One Response to “Proverbs 31 Woman – Virtue #6”

  1. DragonLady February 26, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    I made James get a job. 😉 We also refinanced the house. Now between the 2 we can tithe again, and start paying the debt we shouldn’t have accumulated off.

Leave a Reply

