Tasty Tuesday #5

28 Feb

Okay. Clean eating sucks and is hard to do.  I am learning for myself that coffee cannot be completely given up as we have a daughter that still doesn’t sleep through the night. Having coffee with sugar and some milk (just a dab) is much better than the full sugar and yummy creamer filled stuff.  Soda has not been hard to give up. I was actually really surprised!

I am also realizing that moderation is what I will be doing. Portion control. Clean eating is my goal.  I will eat more veggies. I will drink more water. I will have a fancy coffee only on Fridays, and maybe one other treat during the week if I can keep all my exercise goals.  I do not have the resources up here to fully enjoy and try clean eating.  I am still researching a juice cleanse as I Have heard those are one of the best and easiest ways to detox.

Yes this is my cop out Petra 🙂  but I am trying to maintain an enjoyable life and healthy life so I am figuring that exercise can offset my bad eating.  I know you aren’t buying it though!

What are your tricks to help you stay on track? What are your go to meals and or snacks?

2 Responses to “Tasty Tuesday #5”

  1. DragonLady February 28, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    I nearly laughed out loud for real over “Yes this is my cop out Petra.”
    I eat the crap out of almonds as snacks. I did a gluten test over the weekend. After no ill effects from Friday’s yummyrific croissant, I ate another one on Saturday (with Petra warning me not to), and I should have listened to her. It made me sick. *sigh* But, it makes it easy to stay off the pastas. 😉 Couple of co-workers did a juice/water cleanse a few weeks ago. Charlotte said it was gross. The recipe looked gross. I’ve seen some on Pinterest, but I didn’t look at further or pin because I have the resources (expensive as they are) to do the slow and painful method. 🙂
    I’m still not drinking coffee, but I indulge in tea once a week. Of course, I don’t have kids keeping me up all night (anymore).

  2. Petra February 28, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    One of the things I do is reach for a fruit or veggie before I allow myself to eat the Popsicle or donuts… Most of the time, the healthy first snack does the trick & then I don’t need the processed dessert. Moderation is key though. 🙂

    I think avoiding chemicals is the most important thing you can do – those are what cause the long term damage to your body. I have some junk in moderation as well, but I try to limit the chemicals to when I’m eating out. Though the cleaner I get, the more places like Outback – who has a GF menu, but uses plenty of corn syrup & other chemicals in their sauces, and use chemical-filled cheap meat – start to just taste disgusting & I’d much rather get a Greek salad & falafels at Angelina’s Kitchen where they grow their own veggies! 🙂

    Juice cleanses are good. I know I dropped the ball on sending you info… I’m a horrible person. 😉

Leave a Reply

