Managing Monday #6

5 Mar

Ten Minutes of Purpose.

I hate doing some things. I am sure we are all like this. This townhouse has more carpet than I care for – and I hate to vacuum. I vacuum the upstairs one day and the downstairs another day.  That is easy enough. 

When it comes to organizing and larger tasks – I do ten minute increments to keep me focused. I literally set a timer for 10 minutes and get down to business. My husband is not a fan of this because that means there are unfinished tasks for a week at a time. I feel it makes me focus and do the job right. If I continue to do a job I hate for more than 10 minutes I then lose focus and interest and the job gets completed half-assed.  If I do it just a little at a time I know that full-time period will be successful. How do you do it?

Now obviously if I can have no kids around I can focus a whole lot more and don’t need to break things down into such small time frames.

I usually don’t like help when I do organizing projects.  I don’t like to have someone else organize what I use. Call it OCD. Call it whatever. I like to organize what I use. If it is a common area I might ask for input but do what is best for the group.

One Response to “Managing Monday #6”

  1. DragonLady March 5, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    I hate doing laundry. Which reminds me, I still have a basket full of clean laundry in the laundry room that someone needs to take upstairs and put away.

Leave a Reply

