Proverbs 31 Woman – Virtue #8

25 Mar

8. Homemaking – A Virtuous Woman is a homemaker. She creates an inviting atmosphere of warmth and love for her family and guests. She uses hospitality to minister to those around her. (Proverbs 31: 15, Proverbs 31: 20 – 22, Proverbs 31: 27, Titus 2: 5, 1 Peter 4: 9, Hebrews 13: 2)

The debate about homemaking.  I do what I can – but sometimes I really get tired! I have been doing really good making sure my kids get a meal every night that is warm and good for them. I do this by meal prepping – which I am starting to really rock at!  I make sure they always have clean clothes to wear, regardless if it is the ones they love or not.  I kiss them goodnight and always let them know I love them after they have been scolded.

My husband gets loved – probably not as much as he would like though.  I make sure we talk every day, his coffee and breakfast are ready when his shower is done, and his clothes are washed.  He also love to get into a bed that is made every night.  I make the bed every morning before my shower. The little things that make him happy – I am happy to do!

I am always worried that I do not do enough with my girls. I want to read to them, but they won’t sit still through a book. I watch moved with them until they can’t sit still anymore. As soon as it warms up I will take them for a walk with me daily. I just think sometimes I don’t do enough.

I would love to make them a warm breakfast every  morning – but they don’t like to wake up and I would have to start even earlier! I just don’t know that it will happen as much as I would like for it to!

I also would like for my house to be a little bit more in order – just because I myself would like for it to be. Call it my OCD, but I have not learned the art of letting go of it. My friend Michelle stated what I want to be – “if the house doesn’t get done – oh well” (okay maybe all that isn’t a direct quote but it was something similar). Regardless she knows her family is take care of and they are loved and happy.  I think I could let go more than Nick could. ***Seriously chef Michelle out – she is funny and has some amazing coupon stories!

What do you do to be a homemaker in any sense of the word?

2 Responses to “Proverbs 31 Woman – Virtue #8”

  1. DragonLady March 25, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    I consider it a success if I can keep the stove and countertops clean. :-/

  2. MJ, Nonstepmom March 26, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Breakfast is a thing of mine (start the day right & all that) we’re big on cinnamon oatmeal.

    Also, eggs keep well in the frig (make a big batch of scrambled eggs with sausage) & then microwave one portion at a time on school mornings in seconds. Great blog here !

Leave a Reply

