Starbucks…What Can I Say?

30 Apr

When I had no kids I swore I would never drink Starbucks as it was too much and for snobs. I opted for Caribou Coffee because it was cheaper and it has a really friendly staff. Slowly all my girls left for other places or moved because of a husband’s job.  I finally switched to Starbucks because it was in a more convenient location for getting in and out of.  Even after kids I pinched pennies elsewhere and made my daily trip to Starbucks. The people knew who I was, what my drink was, and my total based on the sound of my truck.  What can I say – an F350 Dually with stacks makes a statement for a mom 🙂

I then left John Deere and worked closer to home and the only time I got Starbucks from then on was when we went out-of-town for anything. I always found an excuse to make Nick stop on the way home from the racetrack and everything. He loves me though so he did it!

Enter Alaska. Three separate occasions I got the same girl who was increasingly rude to the point of pissed-off’d-ness (actual word peeps) that I complained to Starbucks corporate.  I have seemed to notice her not at the drive thru window much and I am throughly enjoying my free beverage coupons.  Especially since I didn’t ask for them to be mailed to me.

In my recent appointment to FitFluential Ambassador (can you tell I am so excited??) I decided that I should really make the change I keep talking about. Using Starbucks as merely a motivation tool – or reward.  My goal is to not only run more, but to hit the programs offered at school at least 3 days a week. Why? Because I get time off work for doing so and at the end of the insurance year I get the premium back (which I don’t pay since I am on military insurance – Bonus for me).  Also if I can do this not only will I get the time off work – I will reward myself with a coffee!!!  My mom sends me Starbucks gift cards every so often and this will me make them last!

What do you do to keep motivated? What is your reward?

4 Responses to “Starbucks…What Can I Say?”

  1. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal April 30, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    This post made me laugh because I just posted today about a coffee/Starbucks scenario 🙂 PS Welcome to FitFluential! 🙂

    • Miss Molly April 30, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      That is funny – I am going to check it out! THANKS!

  2. DragonLady April 30, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    I write “Molly says, “You can do this!”” on my forearm with a green Sharpie! LOL

    I can’t use food/drink as a reward because, well, it’s a problem. :-/

  3. petraccarden May 1, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Like Martha, I have stopped using food/drink as a reward too, & just consider it an indulgence (that, admittedly, I usually use when I’m just pampering myself because I’d been stressed or something).

    I want to come up with a goal & reward system for myself once this person falls out of me though! Maybe things that will help towards better health – a juicer, some exercise equipment… Who knows! 🙂

Leave a Reply

