Team In Training Tuesday

8 May

I have decided to join the Team In Training program to raise funds for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) this year. I will be running a marathon at the end of October, but running this race will not be near as important as finding a cure for cancer. I ask you to please join my team through prayer and by making a donation. Together we can make a difference.

Cancer has directly affected people I have met and known for years.  My freshman year of school a classmate named John Bachman passed away and his family continues to help LLS through Team J.O.H.N.  Don Morgan, a family friend who has been a part of my life over the last 15 years is currently in remission and enjoying his family. Last but definitely not least my husband’s grandmother whom I love dearly is in remission and never ceases to amaze me with her positive attitude towards life.

This race is to honor those who are suffering through something few of us could imagine, and to run in memory of those that have lost their lives to cancer.  I cannot complete this journey alone – my goal is to raise $3,200. Please join my teammates and me by making a tax-deductible donation by September 30th, 2012. The easiest way to make a donation is to visit my website at:

http://pages.teamintraining.org/wa/nikesf12/mritterbec

I will also use this website to keep you up-to-date on my progress. The website is secure, but if you prefer to send a check, please shoot me an email and I can send you a donor form.  My email is at the end of this post.

For those who have an Alaska Airlines account, you can also receive Alaska Airline miles for donating $100 or more so please fill out the form if you have a mileage account.

¾ of your donation goes directly to research, patient services, public and professional education, advocacy and community services, and the rest go towards staff costs and Molly’s participation in the Nike Women’s Marathon.

P.S. If there is someone you know who has overcome or is battling a blood cancer, please send me his or her name and I will make sure it is carried with me across the finish line.  Also feel free to write a note and include it with your donation – I plan to take the notes with me to read the night before the race.

Please feel free to email me with any questions or for me to send you a donor form. mollyritterbeck@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

