5 Things….#1

23 Jun

So I am going to start a new segment on my blog called 5 Things. It is going to topple anything and everything. It can be 5 things I am loving, hating, using, reading – whatever!!!  Have an idea for me? Give it to me….I will use it! I have asked a friend to make a cute button for me to use so that fun will be yet to come!

This week I am going to give you 5 Things I am doing currently.

#1 – I started a new class in school about Ethics – I think it is going to be awesome as this is something that is used every single day!

#2 – Protein Powders – I was selected by GNC to try out 5 (yes 5!) protein powders….the taste test is almost done and then next week I put them into an actual routine to see how well they work for me! You can check out my first post HERE

#3 – Anxiety – I am dealing with it. It has become more present since we moved up here to Alaska, but recently it has gotten 10 times worse. I finally went to the doctor on Friday and was happy when instead of just giving me meds and shooing me on my merry way, he took a round of labs to check all my levels and such to see if there wasn’t something actually wrong. I have a follow-up planned for two weeks so we will see what happens then. He also gave me a low dose of Zoloft so that I can deal (of course after it takes effect in 7-10 days).  I am just hoping that this will make it so that I can breathe and deal. This one isn’t a fun one, but it is something I have going on. Ha – No Picture for this one 🙂

#4 – Marathon Weight Loss Challenge – Oh yeah, that is right. Over at RunWithJess.com we are having a competition!  You can see the actually details HERE but essentially, there is power in numbers and I need motivation and accountability just like the next person – so why not? I think Jess is flat-out awesome #1, and she is a fellow Tough Chick like me. Take a look at her blog – you will love her too.

#5 – I am making things happen – I have really decided that fitness is a priority and have been lucky enough to join up with a couple different groups that are motivating and inspiring. I love that I have this, but am really needing to step up my game to take it to the next level.  Watch out for me…I am going to be one to watch 🙂

So tell me – what are 5 things you are doing right now? What are some topics you want to see me cover in 5 Things?

12 Responses to “5 Things….#1”

  1. Abby @ BackAtSquareZero June 23, 2012 at 12:32 am #

    I’m doing the challenge too. Go us!

  2. wishandwhimsy June 23, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    Loving the idea of this post and LOVE #5! Fitness & healthy living is such an awesome and fun part of life. Keep your awesome work coming!

  3. cottercrunch June 23, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    very cool! i think the class sounds awesome too! way to take life by the hands.

  4. Runninglovingliving (@tonee78) June 23, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    Love this post!! I am hosting a virtual run, getting ready to start marathon training in 2 weeks, looking into getting certified through ACE as a PT, hosting a big BBQ at my house next week and I can’t think of a 5th right now! I hope the zoloft helps with you anxiety!

  5. Carrie June 23, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Nice post! Love the idea of 5 things. It’s a pretty great way to focus in on some topics. Love that you’re doing the challenges and enjoy testing the GNC products.

  6. Erin (@girlgoneveggie) June 23, 2012 at 10:44 am #

    Ohh I’m interested in hearing your reviews of the protein powders!! And I totally hear you on the anxiety thing. Last winter mine got so bad I started seeing a therapist because I didn’t want to let the stress overrun my life. Through every other week meetings with her it started to get a lot better. I still get anxious, but its so much more under control now and for that I am so thankful. I hope the lab results help you get some answers!

  7. Caitlin June 23, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    i like the idea of the 5 different things to recap, not just the same old 5 things i’m loving or 5 things i’m hating (ha) every wk. i’m not sure if i have any new ideas though! maybe 5 recipes? 5 restaurants? 5 workout moves?

    the ethics class sounds like it could be cool. i’d enjoy a class like that if there was enough discussion and less lecture. i think lots of debates could come up and that’d be fun!

    anxiety stinks. it’s good that your doc seemed to be taking a good hard look at the cause though! i’m on a low dose of zoloft too and it’s helped me. i hope it helps you!

  8. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal June 23, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Five things I’m doing right at this second: watching The Bachelorette (first episode to decide if I should really cave to watch the entire season!), leaving you a comment, icing my knees after my LR this morning, drinking some Cytomax as a recovery drink, and thinking about how I need to shower off all the sweat 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  9. TheNewHealthy June 24, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    I love the 5 things idea! I also love that your doctor didn’t just send you away with meds. That’s a sign of a good doctor in my eyes. 🙂

  10. Kierston June 24, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    Very cool segment! Way to go in getting things done! WoOp!

  11. DragonLady June 26, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    #1 – I went to great lengths to avoid taking ethics in grad school and because they change the program a million times before I finally got through it (lengthened by the fact that I dropped out twice – lol), I had to take ethics after all. And I hated it just as much as I thought I would because I hate conflict, and when you have a discussion about ethics, you’re going to have conflict.

    #2 – I will still take you word for which ones are “good”. 😉

    #3 – After years of not having a problem with it, I started having panic attacks about a month after 9/11, and I had them pretty bad for about 3 years. I don’t have them so bad now, but if I go through a period of unusually high stress, it will be followed by panic attacks, and then depression. It is challenging…

    #4 – I managed 3 pounds, and probably would have been more if I hadn’t eaten like I did at my mom’s birthday party. 😉

    #5 – Go Molly!!! 😀

Leave a Reply

