Some Good – Some Still Pondering…GNC Taste Test #2

29 Jun

So my remaining two taste tests on the protein shakes that were provided to me by GNC (opinions totally my own) were the 100% Egg Protein and the Vega Sport. 

I must say that they Pro-Performance 100% Egg Protein is my absolute favorite!  It was a very light tasting and feeling shake. I think some can be heavy and this one was perfect for the morning or a snack!

Unlike dairy based proteins it is naturally lactose free and much easier to digest!  One serving provides the quality protein found in 4 eggs but with much less fat and cholesterol!  This is a great one and has been added into my weekly routine.

The Vega Sport is my least favorite – and my first introduction to the Vegan lifestyle.  Maybe my taste buds were not ready? It smelled great, but had a taste/texture that did not match the anticipation. I talked with GNC and they have allowed me to pass this on to a friend who is Vegan and I am waiting on her report back. I just felt like I was not able to give a great response on the flavor – but I can tell you some facts!

It is a complete multi-source, alkaline-forming, plant-based protein blend. It is formulated to improve strength and exercise performance, repair and build muscles,a nd reduce recovery time between training.  This comes from the SaviSeed protein which is a rich, plant-based source of the amino acid tryptophan. Tryptophan is a key component in serotonin production which helps with the mental aspect of recovery!!! Totally awesome but just not the taste I want.

I also tried mixing with just water and just milk, but I just can’t do it!

Stay tuned as I have decided on a regimen of the Egg Protein, Whey Protein, and the Caesin. I am going to be testing that out for the next month or so and I will let you know how I feel and what I have found from it!!

4 Responses to “Some Good – Some Still Pondering…GNC Taste Test #2”

  1. Jamie (@couch2ironwoman) June 29, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    I also enjoyed the egg protein and the Vega was my least favorite! I’m going to let my mom try it to see if she likes it so that it doesn’t go to waste.

  2. DragonLady June 29, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Molly, I love you. That expression on your face reminds me of this:

  3. lgsmash June 29, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    That’s cool that you’re able to try a variety of protein powders! It’s hard for me to want to buy them because they come in such a giant container, can be kind of costly and I have no idea if I’ll like the product! Like you with the Vega Sport!

    Looking forward to seeing your final analysis!

  4. Meredith @ DareYouTo June 29, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    I’m glad to hear you liked the egg powder the best! THat’s probably the one I’d be most likely to try, if I ever got into protein powders.

Leave a Reply

