WANTED: Cute, Sleek, Warm Workout Gear for Alaska!

10 Jul

Wanted – Cute, sleek, warm workout gear to keep this active girl warm yet still cute in the weather of Alaska – can you help direct me to that place?

I am looking for a place with affordable, cute workout gear! I am stuck here in a place where online is my best friend – IF they ship to Alaska. I have found that there is plenty of warm weather outdoor gear – but not all of it is conducive to running and being active!

Typical temperature around here is seeming in the 50-low 60 range (nothing past 61 from what I can tell!) and I have clothes for 80 degree and higher weather. I know that cotton is not what I want – so that is where I will begin!

I want sleek and light weight because obviously I don’t want to be  weighed down!  Nothing bulky, but room for keys, pepper spray, and a phone. I want to be warm and not worry about over heating. Can I have pants that will keep me warm but not make me look obscene in the crotch region? 

Something other than white, black, or gray would be fantastic since those are the three colors most found up here. White goes for fresh snow, gray goes for the 2-3 day old snow, and black for week old snow 🙂

If you can help me find a place that will ship to Alaska, have cute and functional purpose, keep me warm and cute colors – Please let me know!!!

8 Responses to “WANTED: Cute, Sleek, Warm Workout Gear for Alaska!”

  1. Andrea @ theMFDre July 10, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Try Lorna Jane. Her stuff is amazing and the excel fabric might be the best thing ever!!

    • Miss Molly July 10, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

      I will check her out as I have seen her stuff floating around!

  2. Live from La Quinta July 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    50s-60s is perfect running weather and you don’t have to worry too much about special clothing. Maybe if it is chilly at the beginning of the run, you could start with arm warmers, that can be rolled down or tucked into your shorts when you warm up.

    Because you’re used to warm weather, you might feel chilly at the beginning of a run, but you should warm up. If you’re really cold, gloves are helpful, because your hands may stay cold even after you warm up. Capri length pants can help you keep warm too.

    Roadrunner Sports carries many brands and have just about anything you could want. As far as I can tell, they ship anywhere in the US. http://www.roadrunnersports.com/ They have lots of colorful stuff 🙂

    • Miss Molly July 10, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      I am totally not used to this weather so thank you for this tidbit!!

  3. PavementRunner July 10, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    I have a friend on FB that is also in Alaska… she super trains and may have some tips. I’m going to include her name on a link on your FB page. Hopefully she can offer some help.

  4. Charissa (@ColourfulPalate) July 10, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    Haha, I can’t think of anything affordable – for some place that cold I recommend pricey places like MEC – North Face…ect. If you buy the expensive stuff then you can get less of it and just use it more.

  5. Marcia July 10, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    50-60 degrees sounds divine as we swelter here. I just got a postcard from Patagonia’s sale. But Patagonia even on sale is probably $$$. I’ll be visiting Alaska next summer!

  6. carinschaab July 11, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    I use Nike ProCombat gear for all of my winter gear. I love it, but sometimes it actually gets too hot in our Texas winters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

