Things Change

15 Jul

It is funny how you have plans to do one thing and something unexpected comes up and it doesn’t go the way you want it to or need it to. Things change so fast and you have to be willing to move and change with it.

I have been going through this all my life so I am no stranger to this. When I was 7 we moved from Traer, Iowa to Skaneateles, New York. I was young so change was something I had no control over so of course, I went with it. In Iowa I was into gymnastics. I loved it like no other. In New York we showed rabbits (mostly because that is what my mom liked) and was involved in cheerleading.

Soon enough we moved to Centerburg, Ohio where I was finally able to get back into gymnastics and horse riding. I LOVED IT. I loved every part of it. I was whole again. I had the hard practices for gymnastics and showing horses. I did this as a team and an individual which I loved. My performance was based on me and I could control it for the most part. I also was part of something greater – a team that allowed me to have people to cheer for to cheer for me to help us collectively win. I love that feeling more than anything in the world.

After a few years and college I moved to Sanford, North Carolina to be with my future husband and job. I struggled a little bit to find my place back in a gym with coaching and such. I didn’t find a real home. I ended up getting married and having two beautiful daughters which brought me back a happy place of gym classes, ballet classes, and finally finding friends again. My husband then got into mud car racing and again we had a team of friends we did this with so it was so much fun for me! I also found running and fitness. This is where I really found myself. I was able to push myself and beat myself and have a team to cheer me on the whole way with Brick City Running Tribe and Studio C Fitness. They were awesome – and they were family.

Another move decided to bring it self around and this one was to Anchorage, Alaska – half way around the world it seemed and was. Here I found myself in a place where I did not want to be. Extreme cold, snow, darkness, and no one. I struggled to find my groove in this place. How does one exercise in this type of climate? Oh yeah – they pay WAY TOO MUCH for a gym membership and do it inside. No thanks – my budget does not allow for that since daycare costs more than half my income each month. When I found a job I also found that they had a gym – bonus! I could use it free of charge! I like it in the fact that I can get my runs and such in on my lunch break and not have to worry about childcare. That is what basically everything hinges on for me. My husband is a soldier which means unpredictable schedule. I plan my life as a single mother would.

I needed something more still. It wasn’t working. I decided to visit the local CrossFit gym on base as it was free to military. I can’t bring my kids so I did it on a Saturday morning that my husband was not golfing. I loved it. The competition factor of it all was great. You push each other and push yourself. I was not as fit as I wanted to be but that is why you go back.  I want to go back.

Sitting here this weekend contemplating my vlog for today I decided that I didn’t want to vlog but I wanted to write about the CrossFit I was watching all weekend and the Twitter updates all weekend from my FitFluential people who got a chance to go and live it. It was awesome. It was like I was watching where I want to be. I loved it. It made me kind of sad in a way though. I know this will take some severe changing on my schedule and such so that I can make this happen. I need to make this happen. If I want to be happy again and in my element of competition and team – I need to just do it. I need to get into it.

Is there anything that you need to accomplish and will take some changes? Why not make yourself happy and do it? Stop waiting on tomorrow and someone else to push you to it. You need to make it for yourself – you deserve it. Don’t wait and get unhappy – take the first step to being you. I am going to do it tomorrow by planning out my week to make sure I can get to the gym and make it happen. I hope you do the same.

5 Responses to “Things Change”

  1. cottercrunch July 15, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

    you can do it!! make that schedule change, it will be for the good

    • Miss Molly July 15, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      I will keep you guys updated as I really want this!

  2. kindergartencrush17 July 15, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    I, too, uprooted my life and have felt quite lost in a new area without friends so I can understand a bit of what youve been going through. I’m here for ya girl! You can do it! 🙂

Leave a comment