Operation Beautiful

5 Aug

Operation Beautiful is something that I stumbled across and I honestly can’t remember how – but it doesn’t even matter because I found it.  This was one of the best things I could have ever found!

Caitlin Boyle is the founder of this mission and her website Operation Beautiful her mission is stated as:

The goal of the Operation Beautiful website is to end negative self-talk or “Fat Talk.”  If this little blog only does one productive thing, I hope it helps readers realize how truly toxic negative self-talk is  — it hurts you emotionally, spiritually, and physically.

She goes on to say:

I began Operation Beautiful by leaving positive messages on the mirrors of public restrooms — at work, at the gym, at the grocery store.  I scribble down whatever comes to mind — “You are beautiful!” or “You are amazing just the way you are!”  My personal goal is to leave as many Operation Beautiful notes as I can. Maybe some people read them and just smile, but I bet some people are truly touched by the effort of a random stranger.

Then she explains how you can help as well:

Operation Beautiful is simple: all you need is a pen and a piece of paper.  If you want to join the mission, send me an e-mail at OperationBeautiful@gmail.com with a photograph of your Operation Beautiful note or a description of your experience, and I’ll post it on the Operation Beautiful site for thousands of others to read and enjoy!

The neatest thing – Caitlin responds to the emails herself! I was so excited to exchange a couple of ideas with her and know it was actually her!

I was so intrigued by the website that I went and bought her book Operation Beautiful: Transforming the Way You See Yourself One Post-It Note at a Time

I can’t say much more than I love the idea behind this and the book that goes with it!

This YouTube clip is posted on her website (that is where I am copying it from) and I loved it…check it out!

Caitlin also blogs over at http://www.healthytippingpoint.com and again – it is another great website!

I am so passionate about the Operation Beautiful mission to end negative “Fat Talk” – that I am going to dedicate my Sundays to Operation Beautiful. Please come back and check it out and email Caitlin with your photos as you join in!

My very first post-it:

27 Responses to “Operation Beautiful”

  1. eatteachblog August 5, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    I love this 🙂

  2. Live from La Quinta August 5, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    Love Caitlin’s blog and love Operation Beautiful. Great idea to make it a regular thing.

  3. Tenecia August 5, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    I have been known to leave Operation Beautiful post-its in random locations including courthouse bathrooms and magazine racks at the bookstore. I haven’t done it in awhile so thanks for the reminder that I need to!

    T.

  4. yoliworth August 5, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    Love Caitlin’s blog and her mission. I stumbled across some You are beautiful notes before and it made me happy to know people were leaving nice notes for others. Great first post-it! Love that you’ll be including more on your blog :] xo

  5. jenna August 5, 2012 at 7:45 am #

    that is amazing! i absolutely love it, and i definitely plan on partaking in this awesome mission!!!!!!! thank you for sharing!

  6. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast August 5, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Such a beautiful concept… so simple and so powerful. I love your first note!

  7. EngagedandRunning August 5, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    I did this very same thing during Lent as my goal to stop negative talk! Best of luck on your journey- this is fabulous!

  8. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) August 5, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Love this idea and have been wanting to post notes of my own…I just keep forgetting =(

  9. Wild Things Run Free August 5, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    I love operation beautiful!! I always smile when I see a random act of kindness like these in public places. those are the kinds of people I want to surround myself with.

  10. Jody R. Goldenfield August 5, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

    I have always loved Operation Beautiful! I even did a post quite a long time ago about it – so “beautiful”! 🙂

    • Miss Molly August 6, 2012 at 10:17 am #

      You should find it and re-psot it

  11. fitknitchick August 5, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    What am amazing campaign! Looking forward to seeing your weekly post-its!

  12. Holly (@running_baking) August 5, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    this is such a great idea! So glad I saw this post. I need to go check out her blog.

  13. toughchik August 5, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Awesome!

  14. Lisa (Mom to Marathon) August 5, 2012 at 6:19 pm #

    I love this idea. I have seen it in the past and left some stickies around. I needed the reminder to start doing it again. I am also going to start doing more random acts of kindness.

    • Miss Molly August 6, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      keep it going and send in your photos!

  15. Mindy @Road Runner Girl August 6, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Oh I just LOVE this!!! I’m definitely going to participate!!!

    • Miss Molly August 6, 2012 at 10:16 am #

      yeah! don’t forget to send in your pictures!

  16. cassey August 7, 2012 at 4:14 am #

    I love this and can’t wait to write about this… I am going to implement this as well!!

  17. Margaret - @ThatLoweGirl August 22, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    i stumbled across a note at my local walmart (literally, i tripped over my feet & face planted into a box with a sticky on it!!) at the beginning of they year, since then i’ve stuck post-its in restaurants, stores, bathrooms, churches, banks, libraries, post offices, etc. i’m bipolar so just writing these lifts me out of my funk. & i’ve recently discovered through a friend that her friend & her daughter found one of my notes (i have obvious handwriting) & they’re both doing operation beautiful now!! keep posting them, we are making a difference!!

Leave a Reply

