Playlist Thursday – Epic

12 Sep

Let’s break out the big songs. The epic ones that will live on forever (good or bad). The anthems, the songs that go down in history as “the song of your generation.”

The rules:

Something Old: Songs that are at least 5 years old. (I know that isn’t too long to be considered old, but music turnover happens quickly.)
Something Current: Songs that have been released within the past year.
Something to Consider: This is the wild card category. Feel free to list any song: old, current, guilty pleasure, underground, whatever.

Something Old:

Artist: Baz Luhrmann

Title: Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen)

Side Note: This song was really popular when I was in high school – as much as we hated it – it was an anthem we rolled to.

Quotable: “Don’t worry about the future”

CLICK HERE

Something Current:

Artist: Tim McGraw

Title: If You’re Reading This

Side Note: My husband is military and most of my “family” is too. I can’t hear this song and not cry.  It is the anthem that we never want to play.

Quotable: “I won’t be able to see the birth of our little girl”  This was a legitimate fear I had.

BTW – I am in tears just writing this and I bet you will be too if wait to see the end of the video.

CLICK HERE

Something to Consider: 

Artist:Beyonce

Title: Run the World (Girls!)

Side Note: Yes I have done this one before – but seriously chicks – we rock and we need to just own it!

Quotable: “Who Runs The World? Girls!”

CLICK HERE

Anyone who can fix my issue with YouTube not wanting to post on my blog will win a prize!

2 Responses to “Playlist Thursday – Epic”

  1. PavementRunner September 13, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    Excellent list as always… Aren’t all of Beyonce’s songs epic? That lady can SING!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playlist Thursday Catalogue | PavementRunner - September 13, 2012

    […] mollyritterbeck.com — Epic (09/13) — […]

Leave a Reply

