Tasty Tuesday

1 Nov

I like to cook. More like I like the “idea” of cooking. Nick laughs at me as I watch a ton of cooking shows, and read a ton of cooking magazines. Do I ever get around to these recipes? Nope. Maybe once or twice. I am so scared of cooking something and it being bad, that I talk myself out of it from the beginning. I have to stop this. Otherwise I will get nowhere with anything. That is a whole other topic for a different day. Coffee anyone?

Nick and I went with out dear friends the Baker’s and John to a Turkey Shoot. I have always seen signs for these events, but had never actually been to one. I can now say I have. Basically – you pay money to shoot for a prize. This prize just so happens to be anything from meat to money. My dear husband of course goes for the meat and wins. I am talking like 10 pounds of sausage. No Seriously.

The Winning Shot

Me Cooking The Prize

Seriously - Who Eats This Much Sausage??

Since we are a little gun-shy to buying a ton of groceries due to our impending move we are trying to make meals that will last a couple of days and fill our bellies. So what do I do with this much sausage? I made lasagna and breakfast with it!  I use about 2 – 2.5 pounds of meat for lasagna, and we made about 6 patties for breakfast and probably still ended up wasting about 2 pounds of sausage….all for $3. Craziness.

Lasagna:

2-2.5 pounds meat of your choice

Lasagna noodles

1 large jar of spaghetti sauce (or 2 medium)

Cottage cheese

mozzarella shredded cheese.

Brown  meat of your choice.  Mix in some Italian seasoning if you wish. Once browned, drain and mix with enough past sauce to be more sauce than meat – unless you like otherwise.

Grab your 9X13 inch pan.

Noodles – meat/sauce mixture – thin, not perfect layer of cottage cheese – shredded cheese – Repeat.

Layer lasagna noodles dry  – I don’t cook them first. The excess sauce from the meat will help cook this and it makes it soo much easier to cook and freeze.

For the cottage cheese I normally dab about five spoonfuls randomly then spread. You don’t want too much or it becomes soupy, but this gives it a moist texture unlike Ricotta cheese, which can become dry when cooked.

Use the meat and shredded cheese to your liking. I like meat and I like cheese – so I usually only get two layers.

Always finish with cheese on top!

350 degrees for about 45 minutes and you are good!  I usually make two and freeze one or give ut away.

One Response to “Tasty Tuesday”

  1. Petra November 1, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Oooh – sausage gravy and biscuits!!!!

Leave a comment